Frieling Stainless Steel French Press: Review

July 9, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: Home and Garden.

  After the glass carafe of our last French press was accidentally broken by our teenage daughter, my wife and I thought long and hard about the type and brand of French press that we wanted as a replacement. Glass carafe or stainless steel? In terms of expense, the glass carafe French presses are the • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Krups 203 Electric Coffee Grinder: Review

June 28, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: Home and Garden.

Using freshly ground coffee beans is, of course, the best way to brew and drink coffee – you get far more flavor that way.  As my wife and I are serious coffee lovers, we decided that we needed a new grinder.  (My wife had not got around to replacing her previous grinder and I had • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Roku 2 XD Streaming Player 1080p: Review

June 1, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: TV and Video.

I have to say that after all the troubles that I had with using my Blu-ray player for streaming movies, the Roku 2 XD was sheer joy to use. The Roku’s connectivity to wifi is excellent.  I tried it in our back bedroom.  The blu-ray player with built-in wifi had struggled to get a decent • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Samsung BD-D5700 Blu-ray Player: Review

June 1, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: TV and Video.

I normally do well with products that I buy on Amazon, but this product was a definite exception.  In fact there is a danger of my Samsung BD-D5700 Blu-ray Player review turning into a rant, but I will try to resist the temptation. As I usually do, I researched the Samsung blu-ray player as much • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LG 32LD350 32-Inch LCD HDTV: Review

May 24, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: TV and Video.

My wife and I bought the LG 32LD350 32 inch LCD HDTV as a gift to ourselves last Christmas after checking out as many HDTVs in the stores and reading as many online reviews as we could.  Overall, I would have to say that we have been very happy with our purchase and I can • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sony SA-W2500 Subwoofer: Review

May 24, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: Audio.

If you are planning to buy a subwoofer, then you clearly a more discerning audio listener than the average person.  I bought my Sony SA-W2500 subwoofer to give more low end and fill out the sound, when I realised that my Sony SS-B1000 5-1/4-Inch Bookshelf Speakers just weren’t delivering the amount of bass that I • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Sony SS-B1000 Bookshelf Speakers: Review

May 23, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: Audio.

Despite being an audiophile, I found myself without a stereo system and on a limited budget, so I bought these Sony SS-B1000 bookshelf speakers (in conjunction with a 100 Watt Sherwood RX-4105 Stereo Receiver) with the intention of building a decent sound system.  Overall, I would have to say that I couldn’t be happier with • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sherwood RX-4105 Stereo Receiver: Review

May 23, 2012 | By admin | No Comments | Filed in: Audio.

Arriving in Florida with no audio system and only a limited amount of money, one of my first priorities was to put together a decent sound system on a limited budget.  The Sherwood RX-4105 Stereo Receiver appealed to me for three reasons: the affordable price, enough power (100 Watts) to fill my living area, plenty • Read More »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,